Dayton and Montgomery County

Dayton, OH

Dayton, the hometown of Orville and Wilbur Wright, is becoming an increasingly popular tourist and business destination. Even more people visited in 2003, for the Inventing Flight celebration commemorating the 100th anniversary of the Wright brothers’ first flight. Concerned about the ability of those visitors to find their way, business leaders in the region commissioned a program to direct traffic around Dayton and Montgomery County. They chose Corbin Design to lead the way.

Over 30 communities took part, bringing a regional consensus to the plan. The design team identified 21 major destinations—those that draw 200,000 or more visits a year—among 80 locations included in the system. The destinations include stadiums, universities, museums and Wright-Patterson Air Force Base.

The team also defined and assigned symbols to five areas within the county, based on natural and architectural landmarks. Using the U.S. Department of Transportation’s “Fifth Logo” sign option, the system identifies the areas and major destinations within each from the Interstate highways that crisscross the region. From there a series of directional signs lead drivers to major and minor destinations in each area.

More information:

A Regional Wayfinding Primer